On Now
Coming Up
  • There are no Events to display in this category.
  • Account Manager
  • /
  • Buy Tix
  • /
  • Travel Packages


Zach Strief Wins 2012 Jim Finks Good Guy Award

Posted by NewOrleansSaints.com on 01/08/2013 – 4:06 pm

OT Zach Strief received the 2012 Jim Finks Good Guy Award, the Pro Football Writers of America announced.  strief_media

The award is presented annually by members of the New Orleans chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America to a Saints player for his qualities and professional style in helping media members do their jobs.

The award is named for former Saints General Manager Jim Finks. Before his death in 1994, Finks was known around the league for cooperating and working well with the media.

Strief was voted as a team captain, along with Drew Brees, Roman Harper, Malcolm Jenkins, Courtney Roby and Jonathan Vilma, for the 2012 season.

After serving as a capable reserve for his first five seasons as a Saint, Strief successfully moved into the starting role at right tackle in 2011 and has started each of the 23 games he has participated in the past two seasons.

(Given by the New Orleans chapter of the Professional Football Writers of America)

2001 – G Wally Williams
2002 – WR Joe Horn
2003 – K John Carney
2004 – TE Ernie Conwell
2005 – T Wayne Gandy
2006 – QB Drew Brees
2007 – LB Scott Fujita
2008 – RB Deuce McAllister
2009 – T Jon Stinchcomb (Brees won the national NFL award)
2010 – LB Scott Shanle
2011 – S Malcolm Jenkins
2012 – T Zach Strief

Posted in Uncategorized | No Comments »

Post a Comment